California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
9/29/09, 4:37 pm

Legal Question


On August 21 I showed drawings of a new product design concept to a "Mr. A", a sales manager of a heat-sealing company. He was to quote on one phase of the manufacture. I did not ask him to sign an NDA. On September 17 I spoke with "Mr. B", the sales manager of a metal stamping company located only two miles away. Before I could begin to describe the concept in detail, Mr. B interrupted and said, "There was someone in my office about three weeks ago with an idea that sounds just like yours." I presumed it was Mr. A.

Since then, I have filed an application for a provisional patent.

Question: Is there anything I can do to determine if my idea has been taken, and if so, is there anything I can do to halt Mr. A's attempt?"


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search