California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/07/05, 11:17 am

Legal Question


How to copyright a misspelled word?

I have tried to file for a copyright for a word and I got rejected based on it being too GENERIC. However, it's not a word. It's a made-up word. And it's definately not in the dictionary. But I want to protect it from being used because it has become my domain name for the past 7 years now and other companies are now buying it as their keyword in search engines. Can this word really not be protected? Here is a fictiscious example: It' like if you owned Korn.com and you sold corn over the internet. And one day a competitor, let's say Green Giant, started advertising that they sell Korn, trying to attract customers looking for your brand of corn.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search