California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
My rights for my film
I am a filmmaker, I made a film four years ago, and at the same time, my mother passed away. I was not able to edit and complete the film. It was in a lab for four years. I picked up the film a few Months ago, and a guy that was a friend, and worked on the film for 2 day, emailed and told
Me he wants to help, and he is putting some film into post production. He took my film, and after a month, I wrote him to ask if he had done anything, he replied and said no. I asked for the return of my film, and he has refuse to return it, and has been evading me for four months. He is now claiming I gave him the film, there is no legal documentation to support his claim. He is stealing
My film, and holding on to negatives my film and preventing me from showing people my reel, and actions are potentially, costing me notoriety for my work and jobs. I have emailed exchanged with that shows he has been willingly deceptive.
What are my rights?


