California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Selling music online
Is it legal for me to sell music (which I created) on one of those self-publishing websites, even if I am a minor? If so, how would I pay taxes on royalties?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ronald Mahurin |
Re: Selling music online Because you are a minor, you technically cannot be held to a contract, so you may have some issues when you sign up to sell your materials. You need not pay royalties unless you have an agreement with someone else to do so, for example an agent or business partner. All the income from the sale is yours. You will be required to pay taxes even if you do not make a lot of money. I suggest that you keep detailed records of the costs of materials for your music and other expenses so they can be deducted at tax time. Additionally, if you are working from home, you may be required to get a business license from the local municipality, and lastly you might be required to pay state sales tax as well. So again, it is important to keep records and good luck with your business.
Best Wishes
ron mahurin |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Ronald Glenn Mahurin
Belmont, CA
Questions Answered: 527
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


