Legal Question in International Law in California

I am reading varied cases that went before the UN Committee Against Torture, and some of them cite torture, some of them cite ill-treatment, and some of them cite cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment (sometimes that amounts to torture and sometimes does not). It is my understanding that all are prohibited and that such is non-derogable, but I can't find a dictionary definition or 'bright line' between each--is there a document or case that clearly states what kind of behavior amounts to torture vs. ill-treatment vs. cruel/degrading/inhuman treatment?

Asked on 2/07/12, 5:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Do your own school work.

Read more
2/07/12, 10:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More International Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8788 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now