California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
answer to eviction summons
Riverside county jurisdiction, landlord was angry at 30 day notice to vacate, we gave written forfeit of security which covered full month rent due plus 170 more. They refused to accept our notice and forfeit and served 3 day notice. Notice was not served in person, it was left by the door of the house. A few days later there was a summons left by the door. The POS states the 3 day was served in person and the summons has not been served personally and not by mail either. Summons filing date was Oct 10. We are moving out Nov 1 and shouldn't owe any rent as deposit was forfeited. The landlord is angry and wants an eviction, we just want out and we're not staying even a day beyond that already paid. We even offered to make home avail for showing to prospective tenants during our remaining time in the house. The POS has lied by stating notice was served in person and we feel that the POS on the summons will also be false. We are short on funds and also filing for waiver of court fees and would like to know if we should file answer to summons even though there has not been proper service yet or should we file a motion to quash or general denial or just what? Advice would be appreciated


