California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
12/28/07, 10:44 pm

Legal Question


evicting w/out a lease agreement

I own a home in La Quinta, California and currently living in Seattle. I have allowed some friends to stay there for a couple months because they were in a bad situation. There was no written lease agreement or any documentation to the terms and conditions. Everything was communicated verbally with the exception of the amount of rent which was done via email. However, I did ask them that since the house was already listed for sale that they cooperate with my real estate agent to show it. It is now December and they have now been living on the premisis for 6 months. They have been a month behind on rent and still have not paid for December. They have not cooperated with my real estate agent. The house has been in and out of foreclosure due to my divorce and since they found that out publicly, they claim they dont have to pay rent or move out. They have also damaged carpet and furnishings in the home and refuse to cover the costs. When I found out about all this, we talked via phone and I asked them to be out by the first and verbally they said they would but now will not vacate premisis and claim that they have renters rights. Is that true? Do I have to go through an eviction process to remove them out of my home


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search