California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/07/07, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


Eviction of a tenant during bankruptcy

I own a house and rented it to a family. They moved in and immediately started mentioning and threatening to declare bankruptcy. The tenant is over 30 days late on the rent and will not respond to a pone call. I served them a 3 day notice to pay rent or quit.

1. Does a tenant have to pay rent during bankruptcy?

2. Can I evict a tenant during bankruptcy for non payment of rent?

3 If not how long do I have to wait?

4. Are they liable for back rent and damages to the house?

5. Since the bankruptcy was a premeditated act can I bring charges of fraud against the tenant in a court of law.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search