California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
3/17/08, 4:05 pm

Legal Question


how can I get out of a lease agreement

My husband has his own business and it's been very hard for him to even maintain the monthly payment. He has recently filed bankruptcy and wants to get out of the lease (2 years left in the lease) but the lease agreement is assigned by both of us. Can we still be out of the lease agreement without hurting my credit? I have my own job and I have no involvement with the business. Only reason why I signed the lease agreement is because it was required for both husband and wife to sign the lease at the time. There are few businesses that have already abandoned the property because they can't afford the rent anymore. Is there a way to get out of the lease without hurting my credit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search