California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I am being scammed by my former landlord. I lived in an apartment under a year lease for its duration. The landowner didn’t have any month to month leases so we signed a 6 month lease under a verbal agreement that it would act as month to month in order to move into a different unit in the complex, he assured us that as long as we gave him one month notice before we move we would get our deposit back. We moved after 3 months, and not only did he keep the deposit, he is asking us for the rest of the money for the 3 months on the lease. He is a lawyer. Can I sue him?


