California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
The summons was not served to me, but to a resident mentally ill resident that did not give it to me in timely matter. How do I handle this matter?
The summons was not served to me, but to a resident mentally ill resident that did not give it to me in timely matter. How do I handle this matter?
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
If you have time to file a response, it's usually much easier to waive the defect in service and respond to the law suit. I'm assuming that you were served by what we call "sub served," meaning that a copy was left with an adult at your place of residence and then a copy was mailed to you. When service is done that way, you get an extra ten days to respond, and it doesn't start until the day the mailed copy is mailed. So even if there is a problem with the person at the residence, there is usually plenty of time to respond. Accordingly, judges really don't want to hear motions about defective service if you actually got notice of the suit in reasonable time to respond. If, however, you have problems responding to the case that are caused by the defective service, not just that you can't afford an attorney or some other problem not caused by the method of service, you can file a motion to quash service. For you to win that motion, however, you will have to prove to the judge that the resident was not competent to accept service as a matter of law, and that the copy mailed to you did not reach you in a timely fashion either. If you really can prove that, and you really were prejudiced by the problem with service, and a judge really believes you, the service will be quashed and they will have to serve you again. Bear in mind, however, that if the motion looks good, they will probably just serve you again before the hearing anyway. Bottom line is you are going to have to respond sooner or later. May as well get on with it if you can. |
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
If there is a judgment then move to set is asside, otherwise you must respond. Contact me directly. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
► Filed a small claims action against my former landlord. I paid a service to serve...
► Hi, I have a strong case against my landlords unlawful detainer. My main affirmative...
► In sept i signed a conciliation agreement and voluntary compliance agreement with...
► In sept i signed a conciliation agreement and voluntary compliance agreement with...
► Are we entitled to our security deposit? I am going to try to make a long story...
► Are we entilted to our deposit back? March 09 we signed a 1 years lease & paid a...
► March 09 we signed a 1 years lease & paid a deposit of $1975.00. The property...
More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press