California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
7/09/09, 2:42 am

Legal Question


Tenant rights re changing locks

I have heard from more than one person in my apartment complex, and a neighbor from the building next door, that my property management operator has entered a tenant's apartment without consent. The story I heard only had details regarding ''sniffing panties'' though I don't really understand how these people got this information. The incident I'm talking about happened prior to me moving in, just 1 month and a half ago. What are my rights if I want to change the locks? I'm pretty sure I have to notify property management if I change them, but obviously that would do me no good if this guy is indeed a perv, or at the very least someone who violates other people's privacy. Common sense seems to say to change them anyway because if he tries to break in, then he would give himself away by trying to enter. On the other hand, I don't want to break any laws and I don't want to create problems for myself. Whether or not the guy is crooked is still just conjecture at this point and I don't want to risk problems with my landlord. What should I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search