California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
4/17/09, 5:58 pm

Legal Question


rules on attorney retaining file copy

My attorney wants to withdraw from a personal injury case.

(I don't think he's financially prepared to fulfill discovery needed.)

I wish to comply with his wishes, but, in a manner which won't jeopardise the case. (My injuries were extensive.)

I need my file to obtain new coucil.

My attorney will only release the file if I sign in in pro per and won't retain a copy for himself.

He has immediate appearances before the court and needs a file copy to intelligantly address them.

What are the rules

What are the rules on this?

It's too risky for me to be in pro per now,.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search