California  |  Military Law

question bubble
7/11/10, 4:45 am

Legal Question


I am currently being charged with assault, drunken disorderly conduct, disobeying a direct order, and general article (They said i am lying) under the UCMJ. Two marines were assaulted by marines in my company and I was present for this. Now they are saying they have people who witnessed me hitting one of the kids, one of these witnesses is a cousin of the one of the two victims and knows my name. Another witness is part of the victims unit and didn't show up till after the fight broke out. All of the people there including my self and both witnesses were under the influence of alcohol. I have pictures of both witnesses playing beer pong and consuming alcohol that day prior to the conflict. Now being NJP'd they can put me on restriction which will cause me to lose my post deployment leave (happened on the 31st MEU, we will be back in the states and on leave 19 JULY 2010) and more likely than not loss of pay and rank, Both of which will cause me to lose pay plus my reputation and chances of re-enlistment will be ruined. If i took this to court marshal would they have any hard evidence and be able to prove there lies based on hear say of eye witnesses who were under the influence? Alcohol was involved heavily with everyone there and there was at least 30-40 people present when the fight broke out. I feel I'm being accused by the witnesses because they know my name and i was there all day.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search