California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
1/11/05, 6:32 pm

Legal Question


Hit stopped drunk driver - who's at fault?????

My daughter, 24, rear-ended a drunk driver who was either stopped/substantially slowing, no brake lights, left lane on frwy. She noted distance between them closing rapidly at approx. 64 mph w/no other cars ahead of said driver. She decelerated, then hit brakes, pulling to left, as lane change prohibitive due to flowing traffic. Impact impelled stricken vehicle at least 100 yards w/no other cars involved. Her car was totaled and she sustained moderate whiplash/chest injuries. Driver of stricken vehicle lied about intoxication to arresting police officer, subsequently cited/arrested w/blood alcohol above .08%, court plea not-guilty, he is now suing her. No witnesses. Friend arriving post-accident noted proximity of accident vehicles to one another. Daughter retained lawyer who dropped case after reading police report claiming stop-and-go traffic, unsafe driving on daughter's part, no mention of drunk driver/arrest. Daughter states was NOT stop-and-go prior to accident. Daughter being sued by drunk driver. Daughter's insurance claiming daughter 100% responsible.

Can she refute 100% responsibility? Can drunk driver sue? Can drunk driver be sued? Can she testify against him as per not guilty (accident not mentioned in court)?


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search