California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Breach of lease due to lack of security?
I have been leasing at my current residence for over a year. I have two months left on my contract. Over the past three months there was a quadruple homicide two doors down from me, someone stole the tires and wheels off my car in my carport parking space and recently my car was stolen and left four blocks away - stripped of the wheels and back seat. The management refuses to hire security through all of this (other crimes have also been committed on the property recently). Can I break my lease due to my proven lack of security?


