California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
my brother and I inherited my moms house. He has been living there for 2 years, renting out 2 rooms and collecting rent. He wont sell, because he owes back child support, can't buy me out, doesnt want to move so we both get rental income, and wont split the rent he's getting with me. Times are tough now and I may lose my house, as I cant re-fi or get any loan modification because I own another property. Yet I don't get any benefits from this property. I could use half the rent money he's collected to help with my bills. What are my options? Can I force him to sell, can I force him to send my half of the rent money? Unfortunately, he gave me power of attorney in his living trust, and appointed me as trustee. So now I'm just fighting against myself.


