California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/09/08, 1:03 am

Legal Question


Community Property, Family Gift and Marriage

My spouse's family will be gifting a property to my wife and I. We intend to hold the title as ''community property with right of survivorship''. Question is, if we hypothetically divorced many years down the road, do I lose my share in the property because it was a gift? More generally does the fact that the property is a gift from my wife's family have any impact on holding the title this way?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search