California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Community Property
My Mother re-married 22 years ago. She and my stepfather are now close to their 80's. When they married, she moved into my stepfather's home, which was paid for. They have reached a point where she now needs help caring for my stepfather. He has a grown daughter from his first marriage. She has suggested to me that they should sell the house and move to a retirement community close to stepsister and spouse so that they can help care for her Dad. That seems to be a good plan, but my concern is for my Mother. Since she has been married to my stepfather for 22 years now, when the house is sold, will the proceeds be his only or does community property come into play? I do not want her to end up with nothing after all these years.


