California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/06/10, 9:40 am

Legal Question


I co-own a building, a TIC, and my co-owner has been extremely unreasonable and unpleasant over the past few years, as has the person who moved in with him. (We all reside in the building.) There has been harrassment, illegal activity, conversion of uses of portions of the property without notice or permission, threats and more. The co-owner and I are bound by a TIC contract; he has backed down when we get to the brink of mediation, then engaged in new transgressions and violations. The person who moved in with him is not a party to the contract, a legal tenant, or otherwise possessed of rights in the building. I'm wondering about separate action against that party to protect myself from this behavior, but mostly thinking about a forced sale or partition sale to just liberate myself from these people. What are my protections and exit strategies?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search