California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
What are my legal rights as an owner, how much time is allotted for me to stay while looking for another place or apartment, after my property was forclosed Sept 16, 2009.
What are my legal rights as an owner, how much time is allotted for me to stay while looking for another place or apartment, after my property was forclosed Sept 16, 2009.
|
Read More Answered By: Scott K. Zimmerman |
You should consult counsel as quickly as possible. You may have the option to delay your eviction for quite some time, several months is possible, but you must act in a timely fashion as soon as you receive notice that the new private owner or the new bank-owner of the property is proceeding with an eviction action against you. You have no obligation to respond to a verbal demand that you vacate the property, and you have the right to require that whoever the new owner is proceed with proper court processes to obtain possession of the real property.
Consult experienced legal counsel quickly. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Owners don't have the same rights as tenants with unexpired leases. As far as I know, the buyer at a foreclosure sale, whether it is the lender or a third party, has the right of possession as soon as the trustee's deed is recorded. At the point the new owner first obtains the right of possession, your possession becomes (or became) unlawful, and the new owner can then begin the eviction process, which starts with a 3-day notice, followed by service of a summons and complaint for unlawful detainer, and ends a few weeks later when the sheriff arrives to assist you out of possession.
Since more than a month has passed and you (apparently, at least) haven't been served with anything, I'd suggest that you at least try to find out what happened at the 9/16 foreclosure auction by going to the county recorder's office and obtaining a copy of the trustee's deed. If there isn't one on file, maybe the sale didn't take place.
Step one is to get missing information, Sounds like you're now living in someone else's house, and you should find out whose. If the buyer is an investor, they may be willing to rent to you for a while.
Many evictions are delayed because the lenders and buyers are too busy to deal with it on the spot and they are prioritizing by acting on problem properties first. Your time will come. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► Hi, I need some advise on the property I own in San Diego,CA. I am an immigrant ,...
► Can a bancruptcy proceeding halt eviction proceedings
► I am interested in learning if I qualify for the $8,000 First Time Buyer Tax Credit....
► Is there a cooling off period for purchasing a vehicle in calif. And what rights do...
► I am a renter of a house that was foreclosed on, I was contacted by Wells Fargo...
► Is it better to buy down an mortgage rate? For example, should I purchase a 5...
► Sorry professionals... I know I have submitted the same general question but I am...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press