California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/22/00, 1:49 pm

Legal Question


How Can This Be Legal?

I won my case in civil court on 9/11/00. My landlord was found guilty of retaliation as well as violating civil code 1940.9. His attorney filed a motion to reconsider. At the motion hearing, the judge told me that he had made a mistake and was reversing his judgment and was issuing a writ for immediate lock-out. I told him that I had just paid my rent for September. He then informed me that he was going to give that to the plaintiff. What happened?? I thought that when the rent was accepted, the eviction was no longer valid. I did nothing wrong but fail to let my landlord bully me and now I am homeless and out my rent money for this month. Two different judges informed me prior to this that it definately looked like retaliation on my landlord's part to them. How could this judge have a sudden change of heart like that and become such good friends with the plaintiff's attorney? How could this be fair???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search