California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/30/06, 6:10 pm

Legal Question


Mom wants to give inherited house to kids

My mother recently inherited a house

from her parents' passing. She already

owns a house and wants my wife and I

to live in it. Thanks to prop 13, the

property taxes on the house are cheap.

Is there a way for her to deed the house

over to us without 1) having property

taxes change, and/or 2) without having

my mom pay a gift tax.

What about putting the house in a living

trust?

Can we just live in the house as free

tenants?

Is there any benefit to having the title in

our name? We don't ever want to sell

the house, but we may want to use the

equity in the house to invest in another

property.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search