California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/10/05, 12:41 pm

Legal Question


Neighbor damaged my property

Hello, I am in California. My neighbor recently requested access through my back yard to enable a swimming pool to be built in his yard. We drew up a contract, and I included that the neighbors agreed to ''All damages to property or vehicles need to be repaired''.

The construction company subsequently damaged our concrete driveway with the tracks from a bobcat mini-excavator. The neighbor obtained qotes from contractors for the repair involving an acid treatment, but no contractor could agree that the repair process would be a success. The neighbor said he would not proceed with the possibility of destroying the driveway, and insists that I give him written instructions to do so. He then gave me a verbal offer of $500 for the damage, I refused, as a new driveway will cost $3000.

I do not want to assume the responsibility for the repair if it goes wrong, I am not a concrete expert. This seems to be heading to the claims court, so any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. Many Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search