California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I just recieved a notice on my door that my home is going to be auctioned off on the 15th of this month. Can you please help me understand what is the next steps for me as a renter? How much time from the sale until I have to be moved out? I am in California.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
Once the buyer is known, cooperate with any efforts by it to learn the terms of your rental agreement. You might contact the buyer and try to arrange a new rental agreement. Perhaps you can offer to be the caretaker until it's resold. Check to see if your locality has a rent stabilization ordinance that might protect you. If you are a bona fide tenant paying market value and have a written lease, the new owner would have to give you a 90-day notice to quit under the Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act of 2009. (You might have more protection if you record your lease with the county recorder's office.) Often, banks or new owners will offer cash for keys to move early. That might be negotiable and worth avoiding the aggravation. If you do not move within the 90-day period, the bank might then file an unlawful detainer lawsuit against you which could reach judgment in two to three weeks after it's served. Then the sheriff could evict you after judgment in as little as one week, or as much as one month or more, depending on the volume of evictions they're handling. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


