California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/08/06, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


Release of Business Contract

I have a friend who was in contract to purchase an existing Real Estate office, which is a franchise. The buyer and seller made an agreement and opened escrow. The seller and buyer had some specific hand written details in contract as there was a note to be carried back by seller for buyer. The terms of note were specific monthly payments to seller or his wife in case of sellers death. The seller died during escrow, and the business was thrown into a probate due to kids greed. The kids attorney called the buyer and questioned contract and told buyer the terms of contract we going to be changed. The contract had gone passed escrow close date by two months with no extension signed by either party. The buyer then recieved recods of company info for books, and the business was not worth near the price seller had proposed. The buyer canceled escrow and walked away from purchase. The kids now claim the buyer harmed them as the buyer was the main producer for office and left the office to go elsewhere. The sellers heirs say they are going to sue the buyer for their loss as business value decreased greatly when buyer left. Does the seller have any grounds against buyer since contract was void?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search