Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hello, I live in California and while I was moving with a U-Haul when I ran into my neighbor's rain gutters on the side of their house. She got an estimate from her roofer who said that they would charge $700 to replace the gutter and two pieces of asphalt roof singles. Since I thought that this was very high for the estimate, the owner allowed me get another contractor estimate. The estimate turned out to be $250 and they would replace it with the exact same gutters. However, when I presented this to the home owners they declined and stated that the "roof warranty" would be void if we did not go with her contractor.

My question is weather I have any recourse to pay a more reasonable repairs cost? What are my liabilities for the "roof warranty"? And how does home owner's insurance play into this?

Mr. Minh

Asked on 10/20/13, 12:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I suggest you submit it to the insurer for Uhaul, or your insurance if you did not purchase additional coverage.

Read more
Answered on 10/21/13, 6:57 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now