California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/08/00, 1:39 pm

Legal Question


Can a Tenant Change (Extend) a 30-day Notice?

I am purchasing a house and currently am in escrow. I provided a 30-day notice to my landord. However, the people I am purchasing the house from are asking to extend escrow by 9 days(which is fine with me).

I informed my landlord about this and asked to extend my 30 day notice by 9 days. I also sent another 30-day notice with the new (later) move out date.

The landlord says they are "not sure they can do this," or that they "may not prorate for nine days, that it may have to be another month or 15 days, minimum."

Am I "locked in" to my original 30 day notice? I need to negotiate my escrow.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search