California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Tenant Moving People In
We have a tenant who is on a lease and has 10 months remaining on his lease. He has moved his daughter, boyfriend, and granddaughter in to live without our consent and called us to have them put on the lease. We said no that they could not stay, it is a small three bedroom with two adults and a child already living there. We sent him notice that he could not have them there as well as our phone conversation with him but he is refusing to have them move and they have told our maintenance person that they are going to stay for six months without our consent. Our contract does not specifically state that no one else, outside of the tenant, can reside there, but don't we have the right to refuse to allow someone who is not on the lease to live in the house?


