California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/16/02, 7:46 pm

Legal Question


Unsigned Contract - Can we give notice?

We've lived in the apartment a year. Due to the economic climate the landlord dropped the price of the apartment when the contract was due for renewal.

I didn't want a year lease and told him of my companies intention to relocate, possibly in 2003. He sent me a year contract which we haven't signed. We have been here for a further 6 months and now need to relocate.

Am I responsible for the remaining months, even though I never signed or sent back my contract. Can I give a months notice and leave without reprisal??


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search