California | Securities Law
Legal Question
securities law - delisted securities
on april 1st I purchased an ETF (symbol GOE) that schwab was promoting on their website. on april 3 it tanked by 70% because it had been DELISTED effective that day. after some internet research i discovered that the delisting was announced back on March 9th, yet Schwab continued to promote this ETF without mentioning this was happening. now ive lost about 12k as a result. Do securities firms have any obligation to inform you that one of their offerings has been delisted? I called them and the rep on the phone said that because it was an ETF and not a stock or mututal fund that the normal rules did not apply and that there was nothing they could do. of course once i called them about this delisting they removedthe ETF info from their website. You can still trade it OTC but there is no longer any research info or detail about it on the site (and it was all there when i bought it on April 1 even though the delisting was announced back on march 9th). Do I have any recourse in recovering my investment from Schwab since they promoted an ETF that was going to be delisted in 2 days without any info regarding that fact (which the issuing form had announced back in March)? thank you in advance for your help.


