California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
6/10/02, 5:47 pm

Legal Question


victim's responsibility

For an act to be considered sexual harassment, does

the victim have to state their discomort/displeasure of

the situation to the aggressor? This is what I have been

told, and that does not sound right. What if the agressor

is your superior and you do not feel comfortable telling

them no, instead you just walk away. Since I did not

verbally tell them to stop, does that mean that I am

responsible for the harassment, and therefore have no

right to file suit? It seems that it should not matter if the

victim speaks up to the aggressor or not, it is still

sexual harassment either way. Please can you clarify

the situation for me. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search