California  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
7/14/00, 9:14 am

Legal Question


SSDI Actions - Am I Getting Screwed, Part One

Series of mysterious illnesses, inc. Chronic Fatigue Immune Dysfunction Syndrome, unable to work since 5/90. Applied for SSDI, 11/90 in LA. App lost. Have mine but SSDI can't find theirs. Re-applied 8/91 in CA. Told app in LA doesn't count because SSDI can't find their copy. Told I'd be denied 1st but timely appeal to be reconsidered, usually approved 2nd time. HIV diagnosed 12/20/91 & full blown AIDS, 8/8/92, pneumocystic carneii pneumonia, qualifying condition. Prognosis, t-cell count 148, no hope, 2 yrs/less. Told prepare for death, get affairs in order, find home for juvenile children. At this point of disease epidemic, NO ONE with t-cells under 150, had survived more than 18-24 mths. T-cells, then, were believed to only go down, never back up & once under 150, t-cell counts were known to rapidly fall & opportunistic diseases set in. SSDI, permanent, approved 11/92. Miracle. My t-cells went up. I got better, gradually getting stronger/healthier. Eligible for Medicare 11/94. 5/94 began college to earn paralegal certification. Graduated with honors, top of my class, 5/95. Full time job begun in 2/95. Drove 85 mls one way to work 5,6 & sometimes 7 days per week. CONT IN PT 2


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search