California  |  Tax Law

question bubble
9/09/09, 10:05 pm

Legal Question


I'm not sure if I'm asking the right kind of attorney but my situation is: I got divorced in California in July 2009 (After 2 years of legal separation). I have been working on a contract in Alaska for the past 5 years and only visit CA to visit my 17 year and 21 year old children for 2 weeks every 2 months. We frequently travel out of state/country during those short periods. I currently have no legal home as my ex got it in the divorce.

Can I legally claim Alaska as a residence as I spend more time in AK than CA? Can I claim another state for income tax purposes. (I have property in NM where I've paid property taxes for many years) I do not wish to continue to pay CA State tax if I am not legally bound to since I spend little time there and no longer have a residence there. Appreciate your input or direction where to guide this question to. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search