California  |  Tax Law

question bubble
1/04/03, 5:26 pm

Legal Question


Old penalty for non-filing in California

I have just received a notice from the California

Franchise Tax Board, after returning to the US following

11 years living abroad. In my youthful wisdom in 1991, I

remember noting that I didn't owe California tax for the

1990 tax year, and so didn't file a California income tax

form for 1990. I returned to the US a little more than a

year ago and have just received a notice of ''Penalty,

Interest, and Fee Waiver Opportunity'' for the tax year

ending 12/1990. The tax they claimed I allegedly owe

on top of the penalties California is adding amount to

more than three times the alleged tax debt. I only have

about 5 days to respond, and California says that iif I do

so, that I will 'only' have to pay the initial 'debt.' I thought

that the Statute of Limitations lasted 4 to 10 years.

What should I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search