California | Tax Law
Legal Question
Promissory Note received by Minor
If a minor child receives a promissory note as a gift may the minor deduct the portion of the payment recovering the cost basis of the gift as the giftor previously did on his tax return?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeb Burton |
Re: Promissory Note received by Minor I think your question is a bit muddled... If the note that was gifted had a basis of "100 dollars" and was being paid back each year (10 dollars a year + interest). Then barring something strange, the amount received attributable to basis is not taxed (not a deduction, it is not income). The amount received attributable to income, is taxed. It doesn't matter who holds the note, if the note passes to a minor child, then barring the odd occurrence previously stated, they should have the same basis as the previous owner did..
I can't think of what deduction you could be referring to if what I said above does not apply. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Donald L. Field, Jr., Attorney at Law
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 837
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Burton Law Firm
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 290
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Mark Muntean, Attorney at Law
Berkeley, CA
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-25
HONG & MASHAL, LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Lee & Moheban
West Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


