California  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
3/28/10, 6:16 pm

Legal Question


I was parked on a residential street, parallel to the curb. I opened my door a few inches to get out and a US Postal Service truck side swiped me so close that it took the colored panel off the lower part of my door. The colored panel extends about 1/2 inch from the door panel, so the truck was virtually parallel to my car and nicked it off. It did minor damage to the door fasteners, but no dents anywhere. The truck had to have swiped me virtually parallel to my car, or it would have really damaged my car. The US Postal Service says I'm at fault and does not want to pay the repair. Question - do I have a right to open my door a few inches without getting side swiped literally within inches?

Thanks


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search