California  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
11/12/00, 10:55 pm

Legal Question


Uninsured involved in accident but not at fault. Am I liable?

I was involved in an auto accident, noone was injured, both cars were damaged. The police took a report and determined the other (insured) party was at fault. I gave the police a fictitous name. The police did the report and left. The other party called the police that day when he learned that I had no policy. The next day the police came to my work. (I gave them a correct home and work

address and phone numbers. My true name is the registered owner of the vehicle.) The had a few questions then they arrested me and charged me with VC 12500 Unlicensed Driver, VC 14601? Driving on a suspended license, and PC ???? Giving False Information making another person liable, a felony. At my arraignment the charges were changed to Hit and Run and False Impersonation. Also the others party insurance company says they found me at fault and sent a bill of $3,000.00 to a collection agency.

First question

1. Am I at fault because I was not insured?

2. Am I guilty of hit and run? I think by the the intent of the law, no. By the letter, yes.

3. If I plead No contest or Guilty to Hit and Run does that affect my liability in the accident?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search