California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
boyfriend wants to put his daughter and me on the deed because he is dying. We're on medical and medicare. Will the state make us sell house because we're on aid?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Feldman |
Ordinarily a home is considered an exempt asset for purposes of eligibility for need based programs. However, becoming the owner of the house may trigger payback provisions in social security and/or Medi-Cal, A better approach would be to put the house into a Special Needs Trust. That would avoid any payback provision and allow greater flexibility over a long period of time, including the ability to leave the house to a grandchild. Depending on how sick your boyfriend is you may not have time to create a trust, but I would recoemmend doing so if he can. Please call me to discuss this matter further. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


