California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
California TOD in effect now?
Several states allow a Transfer On Death document to be filed conveying real property upon death. Has California adopted such a provision?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jonas Grant |
Re: California TOD in effect now? There is a bill in the legislature to permit such a transfer on death deed, but it has not been passed into law. In the meantime, joint tenancy and the revocable living trust are options you may consider to meet your goals.
The bill is A.B. 250:
CURRENT BILL STATUS
MEASURE : A.B. No. 250 AUTHOR(S) : DeVore (Coauthors: Anderson, Benoit, Cook, Gaines, Garrick, Horton, Jeffries, La Malfa, Maze, Silva, Tran, and Walters) (Coauthor: Senator Ackerman). TOPIC : Nonprobate transfers: revocable transfer upon death deeds. HOUSE LOCATION : SEN +LAST AMENDED DATE : 06/16/2008
TYPE OF BILL : Active Non-Urgency Non-Appropriations Majority Vote Required Non-State-Mandated Local Program Fiscal Non-Tax Levy
LAST HIST. ACT. DATE: 06/24/2008 LAST HIST. ACTION : In committee: Set second hearing. Failed passage. Reconsideration granted. COMM. LOCATION : SEN JUDICIARY
TITLE : An act to amend Section 2040 of the Family Code, to amend Sections 250, 267, 279, 5000, 5302, 13111, 13206, and 13562 of, to amend and renumber Sections 5600, 5601, 5602, 5603, and 5604 of, to add Section 69 to, to add the heading of Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 5040) to Part 1 of Division 5 of, to add and repeal Part 4 (commencing with Section 5600) of Division 5 of, and to repeal the heading of Part 4 (commencing with Section 5600) of Division 5 of, the Probate Code, relating to nonprobate transfers.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


