California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/27/10, 4:51 pm

Legal Question


I was co-trustee of my grandparent's trusts with my cousin. There are a total of 6 beneficiaries, including the two of us. During our time as co-trustees, my cousin behaved strangely. He signed contracts and hired services without consulting me. He cut off everyone at one point - too stressed - he then resigned and then came back as trustee 3 months later stating that all beneficiaries had not signed the acceptance of his resignation, therefore he was returning. The week of the close of sale of a major apartment building owned by the trust, he resigned again. All paperwork had to be redrawn, costing additional expenses.

Now I am sole trustee of our uncle's trust, but he is named as successor trustee with the same beneficiaries. In light of his past behavior, and the fact that he accused our uncle(in writing) of laundering money and taking money from the trust illegially. He also suggested I move money from the grandparent's trust to the uncle's trust to avoid paying some taxes. I would like to remove him and name a new successor trustee. Do I have a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search