California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
distribution of cash and stocks in an estate going through probate
My father passed away in 2007. He left a will with my sister and I as the only beneficiaries. We have gone thru the probate process and my sister is the executor per his will. We consolidated all brokerage and cash accounts into an estate account. The letters were issued granting full authority to my sister. Does this mean that we do not need to get the court's permission before the estate account is distributed? What if my sister already distributed this estate account? Was that wrong? We are getting ready to close the estate without accounting since there are no disagreements etc. When we go to do the paperwork for this, do we need to let the court know what was distributed already? The only item left in the probate after the distribution of the estate account is the real property, which my sister and I have agreed to equally manage going forward. Please help me understand how to let the court know what was already distributed as we go to close the estate. Thanks!


