California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/03/01, 7:25 pm

Legal Question


Grandfather's insurance policy

My grandfather recently passed and we are just finding out now that since his mental facilities were not about him due to age and illness, his will had been changed. Also an insurance policy was changed. I was slated as the principal beneficiary with a letter stating ''I have no intention to make any more changes''. We have evidence that the person caring for him may have ''strong-armed'' him into changing his will and insurance beneficiary whilst not about himself mentally to designate her as the sole beneficiary. Do we have any case to have the addendums to his will (with one beneficiary) revoked and the original will honored (which included many charitable donations)? Also, is there anyway to void the change to the insurance policy due to the signed letter stating he had no intention of making any other changes and have it revert back to the principal when the letter was signed? The insurance policy is a Department of Veterans Affairs policy.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search