California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mother passed away 8/23/09. Can the Executor of the Estate begin dispersing funds from the Trust immediately or is the Executor required to wait a period of time to settle the deceased's affairs.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
It's up to the trustee, who must exercise prudence. Of course, the trustee should consider that taxes for this year might become due in April. There also might be hospital and other medical bills that will need to be paid, as well as utilities. Sometimes, bills might not arrive for two or three months, if not longer. So long as sufficient funds for all of these purposes are retained, I applaud the trustee's attempt to settle the estate expeditiously. The trustee should make sure to keep an accounting, copy all checks and bills, etc., in case someone challenges some of the Trustee's actions. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


