Colorado | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Injunction on a Filmed Interview
Subject in documentary states that his opinions are false because he is suffering from Bipolar Disorder. He is an American living abroad in a third world country. He has now supplied a letter from a third world MD (his attending psychiatrist)stating his medical condition and the dates correspond perfectly to back up his story. The doctor has also stated that my film is causing his patient great stress. His lawyer is threatening to put an injunction on his interview if I do not let the interviewee view and edit what he says in the film. He was apparently in a manic phase for the five months that I was filming and was taken off his medication and is now feeling better and has clearer judgment. He did not inform me of his illness until after the last filming took place, and did not mention it would be a problem until 5 months after the first filming. Will I likely prevail if it went to hearing? Can his mental illness make hime unacountable for his expressed opinions. Is it fair to offer him a statement that I will publish at the end of the film.


