Colorado | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I purchased some flat irons for straightening hair with the brand CHI on them. I purchased them from someone on Craigslist who said they were selling their salon.
I sold about 23 of them on ebay, ebay cancelled my listings because the law firm of Greenburg Taurig had complained that I was selling counterfeit CHI irons.
I have no idea whether they are authentic or not..
So I get an email from a Julie Bookbinder and a letter sent to my house demanding to tell them how many I sold, where I got them from and how much money I made.
I gave her the information and the site where I purchased them.
I told her I did not do anything wrong as I was simply reselling them and I did not know I was not able to do that. I said I will never sell them again.
I received another email saying since you gave us all this information our client has decided to settle with you for $500.00.
I said are you serious? I did nothing wrong and simply purchased these items from a seller on craigslist that said she had a salon.
Is this legal for them to try and make me sign a settlement contract and pay them $500?
It doesnt seem so to me?


