District of Columbia  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/03/09, 4:38 pm

Legal Question


On the last day of our stay at a hotel in Washington DC last week, we returned to our room at the end of the day and discovered that an electronic item that we had left in the room was missing. We reported this to the Hotel Security, who came to our room within an hour and checked the electronic door lock to determine any entry into the room that day. The only entry into our room was by the maid shortly after we had left. The Hotel Security told us to call back today, Monday, as the maid had been off work and would return today and an investigation would be performed. We called back, and were told to call tomorrow instead.

In the meantime, we would like to know what recourse we have, as it seems with this type of theft, it boils down to our word against theirs - very difficult to prove. Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search