District of Columbia | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Permanent Injury for an Assault
My husband was in Washington, DC last week and while in a very ritzy, high class club, he was attacked by a stranger. The man attacked him with a glass from the bar, causing my husband 150 stitches and the loss of all the nerves and muscles in his right eyebrow. His eye sight is o.k. but the scar will be huge. The injury cut out the entire right temple area. It could have been life threatening. The club had 2 bouncers on paid staff. The bouncers did nothing and the bar never called the police or ambulance. My husband had to call himself only before passing out on the sidewalk. I know we have a case but I was wondering what the laws were in the Disrict of Columbia as opposed to anywhere else because it is federal. Any advice on how to begin this process? My husband will have the scar forever and is in a very high profile business position. Also, he will never regain the movement in his eyebrow. Thank you.


