District of Columbia  |  Product Liability

question bubble
1/13/06, 12:44 pm

Legal Question


hit by automatic security door

Who is the correct defendant to serve in a products liability case. Defendant formed LLC for protection. The LLC was formed after the complaint was filed with the court but before the defendant was served.

July 30, 2004

date of injury

July 29, 2005

complaint filed with Court naming ''AAA Controls'' as defendant

July 29,2005

complaint faxed to defendant ''AAA Controls'' to inform them

August 5, 2005

papers are filed to form ''AAA, LLC'' for protection

August 15, 2005

''AAA, LLC'' corporation formed/registered

September 1, 2005

complaint served upon ''AAA Controls''

October 1, 2005

received motion to dismiss from attorney for ''AAA Controls'' because ''AAA Controls'' is not a legal entity

November 4, 2005

Judge believes that the misnomer will be corrected by plaintiff and the correct defendant will be named and brought into the case but he does not know about the LLC

Who is the correct defendant to serve?

The entity, company, partnership or person who manufactured the product at the time that:

-the injury occurred (July 30, 2004)

-the complaint was filed with the court (July 29, 2005)

-the defendant was notified via fax (July 29, 2005)

-the defendant was served via certified mail (September 1, 2005)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search