Florida | Administrative Law
Legal Question
is it against the law for someone over the age of 18 or older to have a non-sexual relationship with someone under 18 years of age?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
In Florida, someone under the age of 24 may have a consentual sexual relationship with someone 16 years or older. Any touching or even non-sexual but lewd conduct with someone under 16 will land you in jail for a long, long time (unless you are under 18, and then that's possible you could get out of it under the "romeo and juliet law", which is not applicable here). I hate to even think about it, but if the other person is under 12, you are not only going to hell, but that's extremely illegal. If you are 24 or older, the other person may not consent to a sexual relationship until they are 18.
But, if no one is touching or taking naked pictures, just going to dinner and a movie, and you are 19 and she is 17, it is perfectly fine. See caveats above. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Gilbert & Caddy P.A.
Hollywood, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-02
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
florence f. hessen,esq
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Joel Bello, P.A.
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Bonifield, Friedman & Leifer, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


